The Nuts of It

Day 2: Tuesday

Morning, Tim!

I’m excited to start a new project with you. I’m not sure why I let you go first; introductions seem to suit my skill set better than yours. Not that I do it well; but in a relative manner, you’re great at so many things, and I’m mostly good at introductions[1].

Thily fin seems like a wonderful adventure. As you set out yesterday, it is the box we get to fill. Together. I’m not sure how we’ll fill it, or with what, but thankfully we’ve agreed to keep trying each day. But you’ve really narrowed us in, put us in a box (literally). You didn’t specify how large of a box it is, so that could be a plus; or it could mean we are really cramped. I’m a large person, Tim – be considerate. Regrettably you’ve also made it live in a financial model; that ensures no one will read it.  I suppose if this thing never takes off, it’ll all go back to you opening, perhaps too remarkably. And some might say you should then get credit it if does take off.

But it’s in a financial model, so that’s not going to happen.

In other news, I’m remarkably impressed at how well you’ve captured my work life. Below you’ll find a selection from the financial model I was working on yesterday:

161108_Cashew_Nuts Cartoon_part 1.png

161108_Cashew_Nuts Cartoon.png

I call this piece “The Nuts of It”. It is actually the first in a two-part series on teaching financial modeling. If you’d like, I’m happy to continue teaching you about financial modeling; at least the bolts of it (nuts piece found above).

I suppose I’m done with my bad nut puns (for now).

I intended to write more, but it’s surprising how long those masterworks of art take to create. Eager to see how the Thily Fin box continues to be filled out. Were there things you had intended to fill it with? My initial suspicians: Music, Philosophy, Healthcare, Swordfish fighting (there’s gotta be a good Youtube channel on this, right?), Digital exercises (as in finger movements, not a silly phone app for cardio), etc.

Until tomorrow[2],

Zak

Footnotes:

  1. As evidenced by this really strong introductory paragraph
  2. I got really worried I’d need a clever sign off that would work each time; then I realized you started with one that would be impossible to use correctly each time based on the aforementioned rules. A bit of a relief knowing I can take my cue by simply forcing you to be creative on Friday.

2 thoughts on “The Nuts of It

Leave a Reply

