Bootmaking: An Italian Tradition

Day 8: Wednesday

Morning Tim!

I noticed the ‘Random’ tag on your post yesterday – thoroughly fitting; yet I really appreciated all the tidbits. A shorter note from me today, and mostly random as well (though perhaps more ‘mainstream’).

One tidbit I see you weren’t able to get to yesterday, and one that seems particularly relevant for you being in Italy, Tim, is recent research suggesting that countries are slowly moving away from their continents in many cases. Now I’m sure you’ve heard this before, particularly how geologists suggest we’ve moved most recently from one supercontinent Pangea to our current Earth structure as places have moved. The interesting part about the research, though, is the behavioral piece – specifically, the research suggests that countries moving away from their continents are actually becoming particularly specialized in the physical shapes they look like. So in your case, as Italy slowly deteriorates from Europe, Italian expertise and dominance in boot making has skyrocketed. I was surprised to see it so well researched, and a few of the examples seemed almost a stretch, but nevertheless wanted to make sure you were aware!

Google released PhotoScan to preserve old photos; the idea being in part that they could take out glare and background so that pictures of pictures turn out looking like…pictures. As opposed to something much more akin to a memory of a memory. I think this interesting, and wasted a solid 30 minutes trying to do PhotoScan inception — a picture of a picture of a picture to see how PhotoScan would handle it. I’d post it here, but the “wasted” in my last sentence is apt, as the end picture just looks like…a picture. If I had a lot of photos that this applied to my failure would actually cause joy, as it would be meeting a need. Seeing as I don’t have many of these photos, my failure was just…failure. Though perhaps it was also more evidence that automation is addressing previous needs and those more niche but likely very real (to someone).

I am going to use that as a segue to a future post; I intend to write a bit about tech & automation in the context of the US election. This is not that post, but there’s a good chance it comes Friday, so why not transition now.

Acknowledgement of a bizarre post today.

Until tomorrow,

Zak

2 thoughts on “Bootmaking: An Italian Tradition

Leave a Reply

